8 Hours of Oschersleben - 26-27/08/2016

Motorsport Arena Oschersleben – Germany

The Oschersleben Motopark project was born in 1995. In July 1997, the Motopark opened and hosted its first races. The first edition of the 24 Hours of Oschersleben took place as early as the following year and in 1999, the 24 Hours of Oschersleben, the highlight  of the German Speedweek, was registered in the Endurance World Championship. This great Endurance Championship meeting changed format in 2008 and became an 8-hour event. The signature event race of the Speed Week, the 8 Hours of Oschersleben traditionally is contested on Saturday.

Landmark dates for the Oschersleben Circuit

  • 25 July 1997: Opening of the Oschersleben Motopark
  • August 1998: 1st edition of the 24 Hours of Oschersleben
  • August 1999: Entry into the Endurance World Championship
  • June 2005: the circuit becomes the “Motorsport Arena Oschersleben “
  • 9 August 2008: 1st edition of the 8 Hours of Oschersleben
  • 31 May 2009: The race is reduced to 6 hrs 40 mn due to a storm
Information on the circuit
Length of the circuit: 3.667 km
Duration of the race: 8 Hours
Records for an Endurance lap
In the race
1' 26.816 - BMW Motorrad France team Penz13.com (BMW S1000RR) - Markus Reiterberger in 2015
In qualifications
1' 26.147 - Monster Energy Yamaha YART (Yamaha R1) - Broc Parkes in 2013
Winner 2015
GMT94 Yamaha (Yamaha 1000 R1): David Checa, Kenny Foray and Mathieu Gines. 312 laps.